Ratings can be arbitrary, appearing obnoxious at times and not wholly representing the views of whoever issued it. I do hope that you take you time to read my reviews to see how I arrived at the rating I did, and also find this page useful in my explanation of why I give the ratings I do.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

MASTERPIECE – Five stars are given for a piece of work that is ground-breaking, raising the bar for its medium at the time of its existence, and epitomising utter excellence. It is given for that which is truly remarkably special and memorable. My five-star rating does NOT mean that it is perfect, but that at the very least is surely as close to perfection as one could ideally want.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

EXCELLENT – Four and a half stars are given for overall excellence, a game that excells across almost every aspect and offers a unique and defining experience.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

VERY GOOD – Four stars are given for an incredibly impressive offering, excelling in most aspects and only just falling short of a genre or medium defining experience.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

GOOD – Three and a half stars represents something that, while remaining a mostly enjoyable experience, lacks anything notably memorable or defining.

Rating: 3 out of 5.

OKAY – Three stars are given to generally favourable experiences and is abover average in most respects, but falls short of anything particularly noteworthy.

Rating: 2.5 out of 5.

MEDIOCRE – Two and a half stars are given to something that is nothing more than an average and plain offering.

Rating: 2 out of 5.

POOR – Two stars are given for an ultimately poor product. There may be some examples of ingenuity, but they are marred by a generally lacking experience.

Rating: 1.5 out of 5.

VERY POOR – One and a half star is given for something incredibly poor in quality, with little, if anything, to say of note.

Rating: 1 out of 5.

ABYSMAL – One star is given for something that you should really not subject yourself too; an exceptionally bad experience.